My brain hurts…….but it’s not a headache ;-)


I have always had difficulty with mathematics, and I make no secret of that.  When I was at school in the 80’s I opted for “vegie maths’…..the maths you did when you couldn’t do maths..!!  Even then I struggled…..but….as my mother said way back in 1988….”If you put as much effort into your maths as you do into chasing boys and following bands, you would probably surprise yourself and pass with flying colours”….!!!
The problem I had with maths was that it was boring…..it was either right or wrong…..and everyone had to do it the same.  My love for creativity was null and void.  I had absolutely no interest in it…..and sadly, my teachers believed in just rattling off formulas and equations and too bad if we didn’t understand or keep up…..you either passed or failed.  So…..I scrapped through by the skin of my teeth…..and as soon as school was over, I vowed never to look at another stupid linear equation or fraction ever again……………………………………………………………………………….Until now….!!!!
So, I have decided to change my mindset…….I know that I will never be GREAT at maths, or a mathematician…..nor will I ever love maths……but, this time around, I will learn to ‘understand’ it……I will learn to ‘explore’ it…..& I will learn to ‘question’ and become a ‘problem solver’.  I do not need to know every single formula…..I just need to know the process and the ‘how to’ and the ‘explanation’ of the equation.
Yes….there has already been tears, and I’m sure there will be plenty more…….but I’m focused, determined….after all….it’s just a bunch of numbers, symbols and systems…….not tooooooooo scary……right….!!
#DegreeComeAtMe
🙂

math_symbol_clipart

Leave a Reply

